Happiness Challenge: Share 3 Things You’re Looking Forward to This Year!

looking-forward-to list 2011

My darlings, how’s your day, your week, your year going? If there’s one thing I’ve learned from interviewing dozens and dozens of psychologists and happiness experts for magazine stories over the years, it’s that if we don’t have things to look forward to (goals, ideas, big (or little) plans for the future), our happiness can quickly tank. On that note, let’s do a little check-in. I’d love to hear what you’re amped-up about for 2011. Here are three awesome things I am so looking forward to in the year ahead…

Here’s what’s on my looking-forward-to list for 2011 (in no particular order):

1. A new commitment to fitness: I spent the better part of 2010 pregnant and, frankly, a little tired and achy. I had to give up running (boo hoo) and gals, I can’t tell you how incredibly excited I am to hit the pavement again–to feel the breeze on my face, to be alone with my thoughts, to get that endorphin rush that can only come from an amazing workout, to feel the muscles in my legs getting stronger again. I’m so ready for that! (Seriously, my heart is beating a little faster now just thinking about that first post-baby run!) I’m also excited to plan for my first 10K or half-marathon (gulp) this year. Anyone want to join me?

love hear

2. A baby: I’m having my third baby boy in a matter of days, and I am so giddy about meeting him! I can’t wait to lock eyes with him in his first moments of life and welcome him into this world, holding his little hand for the first time. (I’ll be leaving soon for maternity leave, but I promise to pop back in to post baby pictures!)

3. A novel: I shared a few months ago that I’d sold my first novel, The Violets of March, and it will soon be coming out into the world (excitedly nervous about that!) on April 26 (I nearly fainted when I received a beautiful endorsement from the fabulous novelist Jodi Picoult this week)! It’s been a lifelong dream of mine to publish a book, and it feels so amazing that I’m almost there.

My dears, what’s on your looking-forward-to list for 2011? Your goals? Your big ideas? Your fitness plans for 2011? I would love to hear! You always inspire me with your comments! And as I lay here on the couch with my laptop, in this very, very pregnant state, I can’t wait to read what you have to say!

love hear

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment